What we do best

Scaled Agility

Team-oriented agile methods are no longer sufficient in large organizations with hundreds or thousands of employees. Scaling frameworks play an essential role here. Nexus®, LeSS®, Spotify® are well-known examples of such frameworks. From early on, KEGON focused its consulting efforts on the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe®), which now dominates the market. In contrast to the other frameworks, SAFe® not only describes procedures, roles and practices for a team of agile teams, i.e. a few hundred employees, but also for very large organizations (Large Solutions).

Agile Organization


Agile ways of working have been common for years, particularly in the area of software development. This has been proven to improve quality, efficiency and employee satisfaction. Scrum and Kanban have the modern norm for teamwork, and the resulting agile roles and practices have become an indispensable part of modern process organizations. In the meantime, however, development organizations in particular are going one step further and are also aligning their organizational structures with the agile principles. The agile teams form the basis of the organizational structure and the Scrum roles are introduced as leadership roles, while traditional leadership roles such as team leaders and department heads are becoming less important. Of course, such a drastic change requires strong support. After all, it's not just a matter of mastering the agile methods, but also of having extensive experience with restructuring organizations. This includes coaching the people involved and developing the new role concepts, as well as structuring and supporting the organizational change from job descriptions and tenders, through to working with employee representatives and (re)defining salary and career models.

Scaled Agility

Team-oriented agile methods are no longer sufficient in large organizations with hundreds or thousands of employees. Scaling frameworks play an essential role here. Nexus®, LeSS®, Spotify® are well-known examples of such frameworks. From early on, KEGON focused its consulting efforts on the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe®), which now dominates the market. In contrast to the other frameworks, SAFe® not only describes procedures, roles and practices for a team of agile teams, i.e. a few hundred employees, but also for very large organizations (Large Solutions).

Agility@Hardware


However, the size of large solutions is not only defined in terms of the number of employees, but also by the complexity of the product being developed. Based on the Scaled Agile Framework, we have gained a lot of experience, not only with the transformation of large software development organizations. We support almost all the key players in the German automotive industry, along with their suppliers, in their development of complex hardware products, embedded hardware/software systems and, therefore, help them on their agile journey towards the digital future. It goes without saying that we ensure that all process standards’ compliance requirements are adhered throughout the agile transformation.

Lean Agile Portfolio Management

The lean-agile portfolio process is a unique selling point of the Scaled Agile Framework; which is increasingly important in organizational agile transformations. With our further development of the SAFe® portfolio process model (agile strategic planning and strategic operationalization), we’ve created the methodological tools to manage a modern agile organization. Agile portfolio management is a fundamental aspect, however, prior to the latest SAFe® 4.6 version, Scaled Agile had not yet focused on this. Part of this further development is a governance structure, which includes the necessary committee structure and its related reports and metrics. As a result of this work, a significant amount of the necessary management tools are already at our disposal.

Agile Leadership


Now the question remains - alongside the methodical aspects, how should the cultural aspects of the agile transformation be achieved? How can managers be supported and coached when it comes to setting aside old roles and patterns and both accepting and mastering new tasks and job profiles? This is where our many years of coaching experience comes in - we know the challenges and obstacles of both worlds, the non-agile as well as the agile organization.

Business Agility


Up until now, agile frameworks have primarily addressed product development organizations. However, more and more service organizations, which differ significantly from product development organizations in their structure and working methods, want to start using agile working methods. Examples included sales departments of banks and insurance companies, public administrations or IT service departments. For these organizational needs, we've adapted key elements of the Scaled Agile Framework and developed an agile framework for service organizations, which is based on hierarchical Kanban systems. Therefore, they are now able to implement Business Agility methodically in all its aspects.

Please contact us if you have questions or would like additional information.

Irina Heck

Tel +49 611 20 50 80
irina.heck(at)kegon.de

Was wir am Besten können

Skalierte Agilität

In großen Organisationen von hundert oder mehr als tausend Mitarbeitern reichen die teamorientierten agilen Methoden natürlich nicht mehr aus. Hier spielen Skalierungsframeworks die wesentliche Rolle. Nexus®, Less®, Spotify®, sind bekannte Beispiele solcher Frameworks. KEGON hat seinen Beratungsschwerpunkt schon früh auf das Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe®)gelegt, das inzwischen auch den Markt beherrscht. Im Gegensatz zu den anderen Frameworks beschreibt SAFe® nicht nur Verfahren, Rollen und Praktiken für ein Team of agile Teams, also wenige hundert Mitarbeiter, sondern auch für sehr große Organisationen (Large Solutions).

Agile Organisation

Agiles Arbeiten ist schon seit vielen Jahren vor allem im Bereich der Software-Entwicklung verbreitet. Nachgewiesene Effekte dieser Arbeitsweise sind die Verbesserung von Qualität und Effizienz sowie zufriedenere Mitarbeiter. Scrum und Kanban sind für die Arbeit im Team ein moderner methodischer Standard geworden, die daraus resultierenden agilen Rollen und Praktiken sind inzwischen unverzichtbarer Bestandteil einer modernen Ablauforganisation. Mittlerweile gehen gerade Entwicklungsorganisationen aber einen Schritt weiter und richten auch ihre Aufbauorganisation nach den agilen Prinzipien aus.

Dabei bilden die agilen Teams die Struktur der Aufbauorganisation und die Scrum-Rollen werden als Führungsrollen eingeführt, während traditionelle Führungsrollen wie Teamleiter und Abteilungsleiter an Bedeutung verlieren. Eine solch einschneidende Veränderung braucht natürlich eine fundierte Begleitung. Schließlich geht es nicht nur um die perfekte Beherrschung agiler Methoden, hier ist insbesondere große Erfahrung mit der Restrukturierung von Organisationen gefragt. Sowohl wenn es um das Coaching der beteiligten Menschen und den damit verbundenen neuen Rollenmodellen geht, als auch bei der Strukturierung und Begleitung der organisatorischen Veränderung durch Stellenbeschreibungen, Ausschreibungen, Einbindung von Mitarbeitervertretungen oder (Neu-) Definition von Lohn- und Karrieremodellen.

Agility@Hardware

Large Solutions sind aber nicht nur durch ihre nackte Größe im Sinne der Anzahl der Mitarbeiter definiert, sondern auch durch die Komplexität des zu entwickelnden Produktes geprägt. Auf Basis des Scaled Agile Frameworks haben wir inzwischen große Erfahrungen, nicht nur mit der Transformation von großen Software-Entwicklungsorganisationen gemacht. Wir begleiten inzwischen fast alle namhaften Player in der deutschen Automobil- und Zulieferer-Industrie in ihrer Entwicklung komplexer Hardwareprodukte, eingebetteter Hardware-/Softwaresysteme und somit auf ihrem agilen Weg in die digitale Zukunft. Selbstverständlich sorgen wir dafür, dass alle Compliance-Anforderungen der gängigen Prozessstandards bei der agilen Transformation eingehalten werden.

Lean Agile Portfolio Management

Auch die Unterstützung eines lean-agilen Portfolioprozesses ist ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal des Scaled Agile Frameworks, das bei unseren agilen Transformationen ganzer Organisationen zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnt. Mit unserer Weiterentwicklung des SAFe®-Portfolio-Prozessmodells zu einer agilen Strategieplanung und -operationalisierung, haben wir das methodische Rüstzeug für den Aufbau sämtlicher Strukturen zur Steuerung einer modernen agilen Organisation geschaffen. Das agile Portfoliomanagement ist ein elementarer Bereich, der aber bis zur aktuellsten SAFe® 4.6 Version von der Scaled Agile selbst eher stiefmütterlich behandelt wurde. Bestandteil dieser Weiterentwicklung ist eine Governance-Struktur inkl. der notwendigen Gremienformationen und ihrer notwendigen Berichte und Metriken. Somit steht uns bereits ein großer Teil der notwendigen Führungsinstrumente zur Verfügung.

Wie funktioniert Lean Portfolio Management nun wirklich in der Praxis?

Unsere Ellie Agile erklärt den Weg von der Vision hin zum priorisierten Epic Backlog. 

Agile Leadership

Bleibt nun noch die Frage offen, wie neben der methodischen auch die kulturelle agile Transformation eines Unternehmens gelingt. Wie können Führungskräfte unterstützt und gecoacht werden, wenn es darum geht, alte Rollen und Muster über Board zu werfen und neue Aufgaben und Jobprofile anzunehmen und zu meistern? An dieser Stelle können wir auf inzwischen jahrelange Coaching-Erfahrung verweisen – wir kennen die Herausforderungen und Hindernisse beider Welten, sowohl der nicht agilen, als auch der agilen Organisation.

Business Agility

Bis heute adressieren die agilen Frameworks in erster Linie Produktentwicklungsorganisationen. Doch inzwischen wollen auch immer mehr Service-Organisationen (die sich in ihrer Struktur und Arbeitsweise wesentlich von Produktentwicklungsorganisationen unterscheiden) in die agile Arbeitsweise einsteigen. Beispiele dafür sind Vertriebsabteilungen von Banken und Versicherungen, öffentliche Verwaltungen oder IT Service Abteilungen. Für die Bedürfnisse dieser Organisationen haben wir die Elemente des Scaled Agile Frameworks angepasst und auf Basis hierarchischer Kanban-Systeme ein agiles Framework für Service-Organisationen entwickelt. Somit sind auch diese endgültig in der Lage Business Agility methodisch fundiert und in all ihren Facetten umzusetzen.

Wünschen Sie nähere Informationen oder haben noch Fragen? 
Sprechen Sie uns an. Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Irina Heck

Tel +49 611 20 50 80
irina.heck(at)kegon.de